Not Dead Yet

Okay, so I said in my previous post that I was going to push out a new release by the end of 2012, unfortunately it didn’t go well as I was hoping for. I toyed around with several ideas for new features (like hi-res sprite scaling) but most of these features just didn’t work out very well and was kind of a let down for me. Come to think of it, I’ve been bummed out about a lot of things in this project.

The DS port has also been on hold for a while due to my DS dying. Though all there is left for that port is the missing graphics for the secondary screen. So far no one has offered to contribute those, though to be fair, I don’t think I brought this up often enough. I am also looking for someone to contribute porting Doom64EX to MacOS but so far I got nothing.

I have been dropping the ball a lot recently and I apologize. My obsession with TurokEX has taken up most of my spare time, though I will admit that there are some features that I intend on bringing over to Doom64EX whenever I begin working on it again.

12 thoughts on “Not Dead Yet

  1. Hello, I am very new to your project but Doom 64 EX is a brilliant port. Works perfectly in my computer and I am having a blast playing this forgotten classic for the first time. Thank you for all of your hard work and making possible to enjoy Doom 64 without the shortcomings of the original system.

  2. Well, it’s been nearly two months since the last post. About this Turokex idea. Can you email me the details? Turok Dinosaur hunter was one of my favorite N64 games growing up. Oh and, how are things going on Doom64 EX?

    • Doom64 EX has been going pretty slow. Stress from work and the drama surrounding the recent project I was involved with has unmotivated me to do anything productive. Though I was in the process of revamping the demo system in D64 and fixing some known bugs. The decorate system is still far from done.

    • Playability-wise, its done. The menus and secondary screen stuff is incomplete and the project went cold after my DS died. I may just release it in its current state, even though its lacking polish work.

      • when you say ds, which are you referring to? the old ds or the 3ds? or is it possible doom 64 would work on both?

      • I originally developed it on the DS lite, but it SHOULD work for any DS platform.

  3. My apologies. I had offered to do the graphics for you on IRC once, but since then got caught up with real life drama and never got back to it.
    On that note, if you need a replacement DS, if that would motivate you to finish this up, I could make sure that you get one. The option is there if you want it.

Leave a Reply

